cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Non 5'er----yet

Bobandshawn
Explorer
Explorer
I am fairly new to the RV scene. I have a 2008 Keystone pull behind but am looking at getting a newer and larger 5th wheel unit. I have a Ram 2500 Mega Cab 6'4" bed 4X4 with the 6.4 Hemi. It is rated to pull 15,200 lbs. We will be looking for something in the 9K-11K lightweight trailer and try and keep the max weight below 13K or so. It is just me and the wife traveling 95% of the time, but there is the occasional grandkid tagging along at times.

We are totally confused what to get. I think we've actually looked at too many RV's and there are a bunch out there.

I am trying to get some real world evaluations from real people who use RV's quite a bit.

I fully understand the majority of units regardless of who built them use the same components and such. But so far I am of a thought that the actual construction of the trailer plays a much larger role in the reliability of the unit than pretty furniture and size of the fridge.

Any recommendations on units that are reliably build but meet my weight limitations?

Thanks for any offered help. Bob
55 REPLIES 55

cummins2014
Explorer
Explorer
IdaD wrote:
Hitching any of these is a piece of cake because you can see what you're doing. I definitely wouldn't consider that a material factor in your decision.

Some on here have been pretty insistent that hitching up the Andersen is a problem, and of course they have never owned one, but that sure doesn't stop them. IMO its a great hitch, and I too have never owned one, but eventually will.

Bobandshawn
Explorer
Explorer
shovelhead86 wrote: