cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1979 Dodge Sportsman 22' Problems

dallaslee
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to this so please go easy on me. I have a 1979 Dodge Sportsman that cuts off everytime I put it in gear even after I've let it run for a while. I can't figure out where to put the power steering fluid in it and I have to jump it everytime I start it. Does any of this seem familiar to anyone? I need someone with experience to really help me out. Thanks for reading.
8 REPLIES 8

Krmitchell1113
Explorer
Explorer
I just bought a 79 sportsman and really need a wiring diagram. It smells like gas really bad and from my research what I can gather is when it was gutted the circuitry for the purge valve solenoid was broken I need to k ow where the solenoid is located and what its wired too. Pink 25 which is blue and yellow to the ECM is what I'm kinda seeing online but I'd like to know for sure

toedtoes
Explorer III
Explorer III
I don't have a manual or a wiring diagram unfortunately. I can ask around as I know several people with 78s and 79s

You might try disconnecting the battery when you first turn off the engine after running it a while, then reconnect it and try starting it. If it starts, then you most likely just have something pulling battery power and the battery itself is OK. If it doesn't, then the battery is at least part of the problem.
1975 American Clipper RV with Dodge 360 (photo in profile)
1998 American Clipper Fold n Roll Folding Trailer
Both born in Morgan Hill, CA to Irv Perch (Daddy of the Aristocrat trailers)

dallaslee
Explorer
Explorer
Handbasket wrote:
You _might_ find a repair manual on eBay or craigslist. Look for a Chilton's manual. The van & cutaway chassis are probably similar enough to be covered in the same manual. That will cover the Dodge wiring, but not the RV wiring.

If you haven't, also look in the muli-hundred page thread running here for older Dodge owners.

Jim, "Mo' coffee!"