cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plant Tour

jeffo
Explorer
Explorer
Today we took a tour of one of Thor’s plants in Elkhart,IN. The young man that gave the tour worked in sales and was really seemed to know the process well. I bought a new Thor Daybreak in 2013 and had all the common problems plus a hole in the gas tank, cracked fresh water tank, tv’s had to be rewired, the grill fell off, etc. I did not say anything about my problems (I would not want to call him out in front of a tour group) but someone else mentioned some problems they had with theirs. His reply bothered me. He said there was no way that they could check everything on every coach and that if you buy a new coach you can expect to have problems for the first 3 or so months after the purchase and that every brand has problems.

I work in the automotive lift business and we strive for nothing less than 100% satisfaction.We do not not always hit it but that is always the goal.
2013 Thor Daybreak 32HD
16 REPLIES 16

tatest
Explorer II
Explorer II
I visited three different RV production operations before buying, two more since. Even in a common price range, building practices are not the same.

There are two places a company can manage cost, one is in the design or engineering and choice of materials, the other is in production methods. Even at the wages being paid, labor is still the biggest cost for most RVs, and the more the process can be automated, the lower the cost and better the quality. For automation, you have to come closer to building them all the same, which means the production worker is not figuring out where and how to route wiring and plumbing, deciding how many fasteners to use, etc. He has to be following specifications specific to model being built, another quality variable thus taken out of the equation.