cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Running gen while on the road

dmcgiffin
Explorer
Explorer
I have a gas MH with gas gen. Last summer I tried running the gen when it was 110 outdoors but the gen apparently would get to hot and shut off. The gen has a cover under the outside door and I think that if I take off the gen cover it may solve the problem. Anyone else have this problem and a solution.
Doug and Cathy
2005 Gulfstream Ultra Supreme 37'
Tow Dolly with 2012 Chevy Malibu
6 REPLIES 6

BigBlockTank
Explorer
Explorer
Leave the door on in hot or cold situations. Bypass the fuel pump with an external one located out of the genset compartment.

And, running the genset with roof air is more economical than the dash air also. A side benefit is once you arrive at your destination, the entire coach is cooled, instead of the front area, only.

(I was a RV tech for almost 10 years)

WyoTraveler
Explorer
Explorer
Onan indicates in my manual not to run the generator without the cover because it will run hotter. Onan has had some problems with fuel pumps getting too hot. My fuel pump was replaced under warranty. If I encounter another problem with my Onan fuel pump I am going to move it over to the MH frame where it will stay cooler. The Onan repairman told me many of the generators are sold as complete units so Onan puts the fuel pump on the generator where it gets too hot. The Onan gererators are not built just for RVs. The code thrown by the generator should indicate if the generator has a lacking fuel problem.

Effy
Explorer
Explorer
I installed louvered vents in my bin door that houses the gen and no more issues. I used basic white floor vents and it looks factory.