cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

sky deck

apollo79
Explorer
Explorer
:@Hi,I'm new to RV traveling. I'm looking into a used class A or C, my Wife and I enjoy stargazing and I'm wondering if its possible to build a open deck on top. I'm worried about the height of a class A being to tall to be legal on highways. thank you for any information.
6 REPLIES 6

MrWizard
i think with the 'right' class A bus coach
you could mount something,
but it would have to have fold down/collapsible rails for travel/transit
I can explain it to you.
But I Can Not understand it for you !

Connected using T-Mobile Home internet and Visible Phone service
1997 F53 Bounder 36s

Smitty77
Explorer
Explorer
I suspect some of the heavier duty Class A's would have a better chance of handling a platform addition of some sort. Bluebird's and Wanderlodge's that come to mind. I do not know Class C's well enough to name any that might have more rugged construction.

Of course, just hiking a bit away from the coach could bring you into a better position, especially while in a campground environment.

Have fun on your research, and search for an RV,
Smitty

wnytaxman
Explorer
Explorer
Alan_Hepburn wrote:
Airstream built one for a couple of years - even had a stairway inside for access. You got where you were going, went topside and raised up the side railings - it was like a party boat topside, with bench seats, coolers, umbrella tables, etc. Just google "airstream sky deck" for more info...

I actually saw one of those at the Freightliner repair facility at Gaffney, SC earlier in the week. It looked like a pretty neat idea.
2018.5 Entegra Aspire 44R on order, 2011 Berkshire 390BH traded

Alan_Hepburn
Explorer
Explorer