cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

2005 Fleetwood Pop-Up - Rack Track Seal

Jcr4sh7
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all! This is my first time posting and I am hoping someone can provide me some assistance. The rack track on my pop up camper I just bought used has a leak in the seam. I was able to get off the rack track with no problem. Now I am at the point of deciding how to fix it. I have included a link below to a video I uploaded on youtube detailing the issue I am concerned with. The basic gist is to answer two questions:

1 - What should I use to reseal the crack and should I clean off the stuff that is there before I put in new stuff?

2 - Should I removed the entire panel while I have the rack track off or should I just seal it up and move on with my life?

The link to the video is here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1CewHMgzyVk
4 REPLIES 4

SoundGuy
Explorer
Explorer
Jcr4sh7 wrote:
1 - What should I use to reseal the crack and should I clean off the stuff that is there before I put in new stuff?

My local dealer who for years sold Coleman / Fleetwood popups offered a service for this common problem with the AlumiTite (a.k.a. AlumiLeak) roof, as follows.

After removing the rack track and cleaning up the surfaces as well as you can seal any screw holes with lap sealant, even under the seam edges if you can, then using flat head stainless steel screws secure the seam down again. Apply a thin layer of sealant atop the seam and once it's cured apply butyl tape to the channel or if you prefer to the underside of the rack track. Reverse the track front to back so any new screw holes will end up in a different location and screw the track back down. Apply lap sealant atop each screw head and along all the edges of the track.

2 - Should I removed the entire panel while I have the rack track off or should I just seal it up and move on with my life?