cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Help me pick a travel trailer toy hauler

ehinrj01
Explorer
Explorer

So I'm on the market for a travel trailer-toy hauler. I'm looking for suggestions on which models to consider.

Use: I would like to be able to tow one quad (2012 Yamaha Grizzly 700). The quad weighs 648lb. It is 6.78ft long and 46.5in wide. The ability to tow an additional dirt bike or quad would be nice but probably unrealistic.

I would be using it in two different ways. I have 10 acres in the forest in Michigan. No utilities available on my land (although I do have an outhouse and plan to have a well installed at some point in the near future). The drive to get there from where I live is 4.5 hours long.

I would also be using it for my job because I travel for work. I'm a travel Respiratory Therapist (same as a travel nurse type of gig). Every so many months I drive to a new town and work at various hospitals. I've ben renting apartments up to this point but I have met several travelers at work who use travel trailers. This is what I also plan to do with the travel trailer/toy hauler to save $ on rent.

I do not want to push the limits of my towing capacity but I want the largest that my vehicle can comfortably tow.

Tow vehicle: 2019 Silverado 1500 LT Z71, double cab, 5.3L (L84 w/DFM), 8 speed auto trans, 4wd, Rear Axle 3.23, basic Z82 trailering package (not max tow package).GVWR is 7000lb, GCWR 15,000, GAWR RR is 3800, GAWR FR is 3800, max payload is 1826, max tongue wt is 970, curb weight is 5174, conventional trailer weight rating is 9700 (80% rule of thumb would be 7760).

Just as an example of what i've been considering: Cherokee Grey Wolf 18RR, 22RR, Wildwood FSX 210RT, Jayco Jay Flight 125TH, 265TH. I'm not limited to these models and what I want to hear are your suggestions on models from any manufacturer. Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4

DAB1
Explorer
Explorer