cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do RV park hookups have home outlets or just 30A plugs only?

Sentinelist
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new at this obviously. The AC generating power center in my Lance took a dump, which I could honestly care less about as I was rewiring the whole thing to run off a battery bank with solar anyway (which it is now and is awesome). But I've lost my 30A 'shoreline' hookup for power as a result. Since it was all hardwired, I went ahead and just cut the cable and replaced it with a good 12GA standard electrical cord I can pull out and hookup to a home's power. The 3-way splitter on the other end inside gets the cables swapped over to it that are currently plugged into the inverter.

Do any RV parks with hookups have these standard connections as well or is it only the large 30A connections? I'm fully self-contained, but it'd be nice to plug in and run the AC for more than an hour a day...
'The TerraShuttle'
1993 Chevrolet Silverado K3500 6.5L mechanically-injected turbo-diesel 4x4 quad-cab SRW long-bed, Olympic White, 278k miles, 2001 Lance 815 self-contained TC rig

My build thread
21 REPLIES 21

2oldman
Explorer II
Explorer II
Sentinelist wrote:
the AC draws 1600w at full tilt.
Don't forget the start-up surge of the AC. It's quite possible the cord, or the smaller 20a blades, and/or the pedestal won't handle it. And if they do, they might not handle it 100s of times.
"If I'm wearing long pants, I'm too far north" - 2oldman

dadwolf2
Explorer
Explorer
Most RV campgrounds have 15,30 & 50 amp service.

Don't suppose you have any pictures of your defunct power center and replacement set-up?
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 CTD,4X4,NV5600
2014 Adventurer 86FB

Sentinelist
Explorer
Explorer