cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New to trailering

sshock517
Explorer
Explorer
Hey everyone. I'm new to trailering camping and I've been researching for a little while. I'm getting ready to make my first purchase and hopefully can get some insight from you guys.
My tow vehicle is a liberty crd diesel upgraded with a tune and TC... I know what there rating is and what not. I'm looking into buying a HTT it will mainly sit on my land in WV all year and be a weekend cabin but I want to be able to use it on the occasional weekend trip. What do you guys think the max size and weight trailer is should be looking at is. Also I'm gonna buy used, any particular brands you recommned?

THanks guys
4 REPLIES 4

PAThwacker
Explorer
Explorer
Whatever you do opt for a dual axle 18 to 19 foot model. The 17 foot and under are pretty much useless.
2015 Keystone Springdale Summerland 257rl
Tow vehicle: 2003 GMC K1500 ext lb
Previous: 14 years of 3 popups and a hybrid tt

bikendan
Explorer
Explorer
rhenke813 wrote:
Since you are under this, you're probably only looking at just less than a 19' trailer regardless of the weight.

x2.

you need to check your Liberty's PAYLOAD capacity. that will limit you to 19' and under.
Dan- Firefighter, Retired:C, Shawn- Musician/Entrepreneur:W, Zoe- Faithful Golden Retriever(RIP:(), 2014 Ford F150 3.5 EcoboostMax Tow pkg, 2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255 w/4pt Equalizer and 5 Mtn. bikes and 2 Road bikes

rhenke813
Explorer
Explorer
Another thing to consider is the wheelbase of the Liberty, which is only about 104". For safety purposes, a common rule of thumb is that a wheelbase at 110" = 20' maximum length on the trailer. Since you are under this, you're probably only looking at just less than a 19' trailer regardless of the weight.
Rob & Pauline Henke
Mungo, Shelby, Willie-B-Mine (Sheltie/Sheltie Mixes)
2015 RAM 2500 Diesel, Shamrock 23SS, Jayco X18D
MSG US Army Retired

krsmitty
Explorer
Explorer