cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

30Mallard
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here, so I will start with a hello to all.

Not only am I a newbie to this forum I am also a newbie to the travel trailer world. I was handed the keys to a 2000, 30 ft fleetwood mallard. I have been giving it a little TLC since it had been sitting in one spot for 8 years and utilized only during the winter months and used solely on city water. Recently we took it out and discovered that the fresh waster reserve was empty. Before I left I had a hose in the fill port for a bit of time until it was overflowing. Not sure when it began overflowing as I was doing other things. When I returned from thr trip I once again put a hose in the fill port and almost immediately it was overflowing.

My question is; do I need to have the pump on during the fill or is there a valve that is stuck closed?

Thank you in advance
25 REPLIES 25

30Mallard
Explorer
Explorer
budgiedome wrote:
I've had this problem with a rental that was always used on hookup/city water. The vent line was installed wrong with a dip that filled with water. I cut the vent line, reran to get rid of the dip and reattached. I bought a used trailer and the vent line was clogged because of mold. I replaced the vent line, cleaned everything and completely flushed and drain the fresh water tank many times.

I'm assuming the hose was going to the fill port, not the city water hookup. No need for the pump to be on.

Thank you

budgiedome
Explorer
Explorer
I've had this problem with a rental that was always used on hookup/city water. The vent line was installed wrong with a dip that filled with water. I cut the vent line, reran to get rid of the dip and reattached. I bought a used trailer and the vent line was clogged because of mold. I replaced the vent line, cleaned everything and completely flushed and drain the fresh water tank many times.