cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Portable Surge Protector Question

Ranger431
Explorer
Explorer
The new TT we are picking up this week is a 50 amp set up with 2 AC units. Some of the campgrounds we frequent still have a number of 30 amp only sites. I know we can use a pigtail to convert to 30 amp if we shut one AC down, or so I've been told. My question is, if you have a surge protector (I've never used one before) wouldn't this cause it to trip for Lew voltage?

I prefer the smaller in line one due to cost & simplicity, but would I need to get one in 50 and one in 30? Not worry about it if I'm only using 30? Or do they sell one that can do both amperages?
2020 Jayco Eagle 355 MBQS

2011 Ford F-350
8 REPLIES 8

myredracer
Explorer II
Explorer II
Yes, get an EMS unit, not just a surge protector. EMS units often get referred to as a surge protector, but they are much more than that. Low voltage and faulty pedestal wiring are the most common problems you will run into and the PI surge protector will not help you. Do a google search to find the lowest price. Even at around $300, it's cheap insurance compared to the possible thousands of $$ in damage that can happen.

bob213
Explorer
Explorer
I agree with Puttin. You want an EMS not just a surge protector. The linked P.I. EMS-PT50C can be found cheaper by using Google to shop for it.
You can avoid reality, but you cannot avoid the consequences of avoiding reality – Ayn Rand

Puttin
Explorer
Explorer
No,

Although it's a Progressive- that is their bargain unit. Get the full-featured one- it's around $500.00. Not sure why the link isn't working for you, it's ok here. Just do a search for Progressive industries and you'll see it. I've had mine now for 10 years.

Ranger431
Explorer
Explorer
The link doesn't appear to work, but I can see its a PI unit.

Is it one of these:
http://www.bestconverter.com/RV-Surge-Protectors_c_192.html

2011 Ford F-350

Puttin
Explorer
Explorer
Ranger,