Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Safe to tow ? Mercedes GLS with a 4500 lb travel trailer

outdoorbug
Explorer
Explorer
Hello,

I am a newbie to RVing and planning to buy my first RV. I am also buying a new SUV for my family of 6. I am curious to know your thoughts on towing a travel trailer for the following scneario

- Tow vehicle is a SUV with 7500 max towing rating
- Tow vehicle has max payload of 1600 lbs
- Assuming the 6 passengers together weigh 800 lbs.
- That leaves 800 lbs for hitch
- At 14% for tongue weight, 800 lbs gives me 800 / 0.14 = 5714 lbs
- Assume I have about 1000 lbs as cargo that I will need to put in the trailer.
- That gives me maybe 4500 lbs for a dry travel trailer weight (no cargo)
- Meaning that 4500 lbs dry trailer weight + 1000 lbs cargo = 5500 lbs GVW of the trailer which is below the 5714 lbs available
- Hensley hitch
- I am only going to be RVing for a few camping trips a year of a few days each. So a total like 10 days of RVing a year

What do you guys think of the above ? Would you feel comfortable using the tow vehicle under such conditions ?

thank you !
17 REPLIES 17

outdoorbug
Explorer
Explorer
carringb wrote:
If you want to tow that much trailer AND carry 6 people in luxury, the Navigator is by far the best option IMO. The interior is at least as good as the MLS finally, but will manage a heavy trailer far better.

Full size vans are great, but the Express and NV are riding on ancient chassis at the point. Only the Transit has any semblance of a modern driving experience, but a relatively low GCWR. I don't think any of them would meet the OP's tastes, if they were considering a GLS.

Thanks. Yes, I am surprised there are no SUVs (luxury or not) that can carry 6 people AND safely tow 5 to 6000 lbs.