cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

understanding weight

Dagz45
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all, i'm new to having a pop up. So i'm sorry in advance for the noob question. But regarding weight, as i understand so far, my little metal plate on my pop up says 1963 lbs. So that's dry weight off of the assembly line, right? I forgot to add, 2012 traverse yosemite. Now when i got my tabs for it, said it was 3000 lbs. If i read google right, the weight is the base weight plus any dealer options, with water (i'm not going to haul with any water) and full propane. I have a outside shower, a/c, water heater, 1 propane tank, a inside gas burner, 35 amp inverter, heated mattresses. I guess i'm just trying to figure out where the extra 1000Lbs came from? what am i missing. Like i said i'm new, so i apologize for the ignorance.
thanks in advance.
3 REPLIES 3

Beer_Belly
Explorer
Explorer
Just as a precaution, we checked our tires and found they were rated for exactly the max load.....never had a problem, but when we replaced them, went to a tire with a higher max load so we would not be at the limit of the tire.
*Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming - "WOW, What a ride!"

Lwiddis
Explorer II
Explorer II
Weighting all RVs, and their TV if applicable and fully loaded, is a good idea.
Winnebago 2101DS TT & 2022 Chevy Silverado 1500 LTZ Z71, WindyNation 300 watt solar-Lossigy 200 AH Lithium battery. Prefer boondocking, USFS, COE, BLM, NPS, TVA, state camps. Bicyclist. 14 yr. Army -11B40 then 11A - (MOS 1542 & 1560) IOBC & IOAC grad

downtheroad
Explorer
Explorer
Here are the specs that I found for that trailer:

Dry Weight 1,997 lbs.
Payload Capacity 1,141 lbs