cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WATER IN ROLLED UP AWNING

bullyus
Explorer
Explorer
Took out the trailer for first time this weekend. When I went to open the awning I almost wrecked the awning arms and my shoulder trying to lift the arms for opening. Once I got it to open there was gallons of water in the rolled up fabric. Beats me how this can fill sitting there. The amount of water was huge. Any ideas why this happens and is there a cure for this problem. It is not a new problem for me but really filled with water this time. Thanks ..Appreciate any ideas..Bullyus
2003 KOMFORT 25TQSG TRAILER
2000 GMC 2500 6.0 liter 4:10 axles
PRODIGY
1 WIFE
1 SMALL DOG
21 REPLIES 21

drsteve
Explorer
Explorer
micahtuyls wrote:
I am a newbie to the sport of camping and purchased a 2005 26' Keystone Springdale to see if our family liked camping. Well, I kept the awning open during a huge rain storm and I think it filled up with water and collapsed. It looks like all the support hardware is fine, however the roller tube bent in half (it must be hollow aluminium) and fell to the ground. I would like to replace just the roller tube and fabric (original) any idea where to start? Lots of places online to buy fabric but can't seem to find the roller. Also, I assume there are many types of rollers, How do I find an exact replacement so I don't have to buy all new hardware? Thanks for your help.....

Roller tubes are readily available from various sources, including Amazon. You will get more responses if you start a new thread to ask your question, rather than post it in this thread.
2006 Silverado 1500HD Crew Cab 2WD 6.0L 3.73 8600 GVWR
2018 Coachmen Catalina Legacy Edition 223RBS
1991 Palomino Filly PUP

Sam_Spade
Explorer
Explorer
micahtuyls wrote:
Also, I assume there are many types of rollers, How do I find an exact replacement so I don't have to buy all new hardware? Thanks for your help.....

You live in Florida ?