Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Cellular Amplifier & Antennae

johninedmonton
Explorer
Explorer
Hi guys and gals;

I'm looking at cellular amplifiers, and the installation process. Specifically, I want reliable and fast LTE internet so that we can home-school/cyber-school our kids on the road.

I think I've identified the amplifier I want:

http://www.wilsonamplifiers.com/wilson-dt4g-dt-4g-desktop-amplifier-kit-4g-lte-aws-3g-2g-all-us-carriers-460101

Now for the installation. I'm no electrician. Far from it. So this is uncharted territory for me! Any suggestions?

Also, I'd like to create some sort of a telescoping pole for the antenna. I've heard that you get a much clearer signal if you can get the antenna up high. The higher the better. So does anyone have any suggestions on how to create a telescoping antenna?

And finally, do you have any experience with cellular amplifiers?
John From Alberta, Canada

2005 Ford Excursion Eddie Bauer 6.0L Diesel
Andersen WD Hitch
2013 Sport Trek 320VIK

Life is a story. I plan to make mine worth telling.
27 REPLIES 27

RoyB
Explorer II
Explorer II
We use our secure Verizon MIFI 2200 sitting in a WILSON SLEEK CRADLE with external passive antenna setup and it works like gang busters for us. We can use this with 5 WIFI enabled devices inside and outside our trailer setup.

The problem is all of the carriers have different takes on the GB data plans. We get by just fine with our 3GB DATAPLAN but it is just two of us checking emails, paying some bills, chatting with family etc. With the kids you would want a minimum of 20GBs I would think. Then who knows how much GBs you will need if you start downstreaming things... ALot of folks really liked the now defunct Millennium setups... The VERIZON carrier is the best for all over the US and you hear alot of folks still using the VERIZON JET PACK plans.

Roy Ken
My Posts are IMHO based on my experiences - Words in CAPS does not mean I am shouting
Roy - Carolyn