cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2017 f250 towing fifth wheel

Keith_P
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 2017 F250 Single wheel and am looking to get a toy hauler. Truck is a crew cab short bed and will have a B&W slider hitch. Im new to fifth wheel rv's and was lookin a suggestion on what size to get. Id like to have a separate garage if possible. Again I'm new to this so any help would be helpful.

truck info
2017 F250 crew cab short bed 4x4
heavy duty tow package 10;000lb gvw
3.55 gears
56 REPLIES 56

Keith_P
Explorer
Explorer
I know this seems silly but how do I find my rawr for my truck. I know what the tires are but not sure what the rating is for the axle. I know it has 3.55 gears

JAC1982
Explorer
Explorer
Keith P wrote:
well initial though was a 5er but docent look like I can get what I want with this f250:(

So, my neighbor pulls a Fuzion 341 with a 2500 RAM. His hauler is heavier than ours, and he has 3 kids and puts 4 quads in his 11' garage. He's overloaded, but he's used to pulling heavy trailers and said it's not "that" bad. So some of it depends on your comfort level. My FIL is a former hotshot driver, he'll tow just about anything with his 1999 GMC 3500 and feel fine about it.

As for us, we started out as inexperienced towers driving in the mountains and in very windy places with a larger bumper pull and a truck that was too small, and had some really scary moments. We went from an F150 (not good), to an F250 (better, but still a bit stressful), to an F350 dually (weeee!), then got the 5er, and then just picked up the new truck this year and it's more than capable and we're happy. Did it cost us some money? You bet, but peace of mind is worth something too.
2020 Keystone Montana High Country 294RL
2017 Ford F350 DRW King Ranch
2021 Ford F350 SRW Lariat Tremor

IdaD
Explorer
Explorer
Keith P wrote:
well initial though was a 5er but docent look like I can get what I want with this f250:(