cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Acceptable electrical load

Rvdude22
Explorer
Explorer
Good afternoon I have recently purchased a 2007 Keystone Cougar 289BHS. I am new to the world of RVs. With this in mind me and my wife are going to be living in the Rv full time. We do not plan on moving the rv for awhile since we have nothing big enough to pull it with. The RV is a 50 amp with a single ac at the moment I am planning on adding a second to help cool the rv. We are needing extra fridge and freezer space which we are planning on running a 4.5 cubic ft in the area where the bunk beds are and 5.3 cubic ft deep freezer that will sit out side. We also want to use a portable washer. The only other electronics that will be used is normal stuff that would be used for entertainment. With all of this information for what I am drawing for power. Will I need to do anything special to prevent electrical damage to anything in the rv? Also what are some tips that I should look for or do while living in the rv? Thank you anything is appreciated. 
18 REPLIES 18

pianotuna
Nomad II
Nomad II
Stickdog,

My peak load, using the OEM 30 amp, auxiliary 20 amp, and auxiliary 15 amp, is 7700 watts. At 120 volts that works out to about 64 amps.

The average load for a 25 hour period was about 5400 watts, or 45 amps (at 120 volts). So the continuous load was less than 80% of total capacity.

Total consumption was about 129 KWH in 24 hours.

120 volts is probably optimistic. I did not have the autoformer at that time.

The high for the day was -30 C (-22 f) and I was heating 100% electrically.
Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp-hours of Telcom jars, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

stickdog
Explorer
Explorer
We have a 50 amp rig, in sig. Two AC, residential fridge, Splendidi 2100xl, 3cu freezer I have never seen a total over 60 amps on both legs combined.
9-11 WE WILL NEVER FORGET!