cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Any haulers with 20 foot cargo length?

Identifier
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all. I'm new to RVing and hauling but I have an 18 foot "toy" that I want to take with me camping to various places across the US. I'm trying to decide between buying a toy hauler vs. buying a 30' motorhome pulling a 20' enclosed trailer. The motorhome-pulling-a-trailer idea sounds like a 55' train of disaster just waiting to happen, but the problem with toy haulers is that most of them only have a 10'-12' "cargo area". My toy is just a little over 18 feet long (but only a few feet wide at the ends). Does anyone have any suggestions on any toy haulers like that? Personally I'd just settle on a bare bones 20' enclosed trailer but the misses wants a bed to sleep on and a bathroom to pee in and the usual stuff like that... go figure 🙂 Also I don't own a tow vehicle yet so I'm leaning towards a 5th wheel as opposed to a TT (for stability and handling advantages etc.)

Thanks for any advice!!
40 REPLIES 40

midnightsmoker3
Explorer
Explorer
I own a 2008 Forest River Sandstorm F34sp that is open floor plan that has 18'6" or cargo.I fit a RZR and 3fl full size quads no problem. Forest River made a few models betwen 2008-2010 that had close to 20'.
2006 Ford F350 Lariat Crew, LB 6.0,
2008 Forest River Sandstorm F34SP.

2008 RZR LT
2007 LTZ250
2003 Kawasaki KFX400

Identifier
Explorer
Explorer
Yup

Bumpyroad
Explorer
Explorer
dedmiston wrote:
Identifier wrote:
My toy actually only weighs 600lbs. I'd probably put a 10-drawer tool chest in there as well, but that's about it.

So what is this 18' long 2' wide 600# toy anyway? Just curious.

ultralite plane/glider?
bumpy

dedmiston
Identifier wrote:
My toy actually only weighs 600lbs. I'd probably put a 10-drawer tool chest in there as well, but that's about it.

So what is this 18' long 2' wide 600# toy anyway? Just curious.