cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Feed back wanted on the "Real" Top Brands

Expediter
Explorer
Explorer
Im a total newbie looking first RV, a 5th wheel, and asking for some guidance. Ive been told that Jayco, Heartland are some of the better manufactures however looking for input. It seems that every maker out there has some horror stories on units leaking bad slide assemblies etc.

Any advise as to the "Real" Top brands?
39 REPLIES 39

DanNJanice
Explorer
Explorer
There are really only two large companies. Thor and Forest River. They make up about 75% of all the TT/5vers sold. I would expect similar quality from all the "brands" sold by these two companies. Possible exception would be Airstream (Thor) as they are much higher priced and a unique design.
Of the remainder, there is Lance, Outdoor RV(Timber Ridge, Blackstone, etc), Northwoods(Arctic Fox), IMO these three are a cut above in both price and quality. I think Keystone and Heartland are still independent as well.
2015 Jayco 27RLS
2015 F250 PSD

Expediter
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks great input !!

goducks10
Explorer
Explorer
Someones top brand is someones worst nightmare. With that being said they're some brands that seem to have less trouble. Northwood MFG and Outdoor RV don't seem to have the 'Nightmare' issues that some do. OTOH you can find owners that own less costly brands and have zero troubles. My opinion is to search out the floor plan you like, then find brands with that floor plan and then start investigating how those brands are built, ie; how thick the frame is, what suspension is used, how much cargo weight it can carry, etc.

DutchmenSport
Explorer
Explorer
I don't think there is such a thing as a "top brand." What you do have are models that are more "popular" than others. And of course, the more built and sold, the higher the odds someone will complain about something in the workmanship.