cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help deciding on hitch

Snopusher
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to fifth wheels and looking for recommendations on hitch. We are looking at a Sierra 377flick. Hitch weight says 2445lbs. I own a 2013 ram 2500 Cummins short bed srw crew cab. I know the weight police are gonna question the weight! I am looking for recommendations on what hitch to buy. Any help would be appreciated. I will also be using airbags for assistance, and the truck has a 3" lift with 35x12.5 x 20 E rated tires.
2013 Ram 2500 CTD PPEI Tuned 3" BDS RIde Rite Airbags
2017 Sierra 377 FLIK
2005 Nissan Armada (SOLD)
2008 Springdale 298BH-SSR (SOLD)
28 REPLIES 28

Coach-man
Explorer
Explorer
b_pilot wrote:
With a short bed truck and a fifth wheel trailer you should consider a slider hitch. When I bought my first 5th wheel, I bought a manual slider hitch since I had a 2500 short bed. I didn't like it because you had to plan on when you needed to move the hitch back for a tight turn. When I sold my truck for another 2500 short bed truck, I bought a Pullrite Super Glide which moves back and forth automatically as you make turns. It provides piece of mind knowing that you can make a tight turn without hitting the cab of the truck. Much more expensive than a manual slider but worth it in my opinion.

X2!! I have noticed a lot of people pooh, pooh the super glide! They say it is heavy? I want something heavy and rugged to pull my 5th wheel! You never have to stop and think, "should I slide"? It does so automatically, you just back it in, no worries! Hitching and un hitching is a snap! I do not have to worry about it it just sits there and does what it is supposed to do! You wanted a suggestion, Pullright Super Glide all the way!

Bobandshawn
Explorer
Explorer
CDASH said;