cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sludge build up in 1 1/2 bath fifth wheels

grampyjd
Explorer
Explorer
My wife and I have been RVing for over 30 years in five different motor homes. Our last motor home had a bath and a half with four tanks, two black and two gray. When we would dump, it would take 10 to 15 minutes to drain and flush all four tanks. Last year (2014) we decided to try a fifth wheel while we could still travel.

In March we purchased a new 2014 Montana 3900FB, bath and a half, fifth wheel. After a short trip our front tanks wouldn’t drain and the service department said we didn’t use chemicals, which we did. Having RV’d for 30 years we know how to use chemicals, flush and drain tanks. My concern is the front two holding tanks on the fifth wheel. With clean water I filled all four tanks 1/3 full and then I drained each into a 5 gallon bucket one at a time. The front black tank took 25 seconds to discharge 2 1/2 gallons. The front gray tank took 20 seconds to discharge 2 1/2 gallons. The back black tank took 8 seconds to discharge 2 1/2 gallons. The back gray tank took five seconds to discharge 2 1/2 gallons.

My concern is with the slow rate of flow from the two front tanks, especially the black tank, am I apt to continually run into problems with sludge accumulation. Has anybody out there had problems draining their tanks on the Montana 3900FB fifth wheel. (or on any bath and a half fifth wheel).

Thanks for any help and comments.

Grampyjd
Sincerely,

grampyjd
jstouffer@stouffertech.com
8 REPLIES 8

Bumpyroad
Explorer
Explorer
put in a black/grey tank sprayer to get rid of sludge build up.
bumpy

laknox
Nomad
Nomad