cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Tires

NancyLepri
Explorer
Explorer
I am interested in getting new tires for my truck and trailer. I am thinking Michelin Defenders. Don't know about what size for 5'r yet cause its in storage. Any views? Any brand? I only use it three weeks of the year and the bridgestones are cracked. I now have tire covers to help with that problem.
24 REPLIES 24

laknox
Nomad
Nomad
pcaffrey wrote:
Question. my 5th has 225/75R15 D rated tires, if I go to E rated tires must I change my rims also due to more air pressure. Thanks

My Komfort was placarded for D's, but the OEM aluminum rims are rated for 80 psi. I've been running E's for 8 years now.

Lyle
2022 GMC Sierra 3500 HD Denali Crew Cab 4x4 Duramax
B&W OEM Companion & Gooseneck Kit
2017 KZ Durango 1500 D277RLT
1936 John Deere Model A
International Flying Farmers 64 Year Member

GoPackGo
Explorer
Explorer
My E rated tires max out at 80 psi. Your rims can't take that ?

bpounds
Nomad
Nomad
pcaffrey wrote:
Question. my 5th has 225/75R15 D rated tires, if I go to E rated tires must I change my rims also due to more air pressure. Thanks

I wouldn't. But opinions vary.
2006 F250 Diesel
2011 Keystone Cougar 278RKSWE Fiver

pcaffrey
Explorer
Explorer

Justaguy
Explorer
Explorer
X2 on the Maxxis. 21,000 miles -18 months. So far, so good. Manufactured date- Feb, 2014

Me_Again
Explorer II
Explorer II
NancyLepri wrote:
Oh I forgot to say its a Keystone Larodo 29.5 ft with a a GMC 2500 truck. Originally came with big snow tire looking things. Bridgestones. I have heard that the Michelins might increase my gas mileage too. Only have maybe 30,000 on them...2009