cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Two plugs?

frosti
Explorer
Explorer
I apologize in advance for the newbie questions, but hey, I'm a newbie.

We are in the process of buying a vintage (aka old) 5th wheel. It's a 1972 Kayot. We really enjoy the vintage campers, having pulled a 1968 Aristocrat travel trailer for the last several years. So when this Kayot came up we decided to throw caution to the wind and buy it. The learning curve has been interesting, to say the least.

Thanks to this forum and others, we've closed our knowledge gap considerably. However, I'm a little bit stumped on the electrical hook up. The dealer sent me a picture of the electrical and there are two plugs coming from the trailer. One is the older 7 pin round style, and I'm assuming this is what I will use for towing. I'm planning to get an adapter from my 7 blade connector on the truck to the 7 pin on the trailer. But the other is a 4 pin connector. And I can't figure out why there would be two different plugs.

Anyone have any ideas?
11 REPLIES 11

frosti
Explorer
Explorer
We tore up the check and drove home without the camper. The End. 🙂

CurtisFamily
Explorer
Explorer
Well, let us know how it turns out...
~Randy and Becky~

2007 Chevrolet Suburban 1500 LT 4X4, 5.3L eng
2015 Chevrolet HD 3500 LTZ Duramax CC DRW 4X4
2015 Jayco Eagle 30.5 BHLT
2006 Yamaha Kodiak 450
2006 Polaris Predator 90
2011 Polaris RZR 170

frosti
Explorer
Explorer
Quick update to anybody who wants to know: It turns out the 4 wire plug was for an old camper to TV intercom system.

The longer version: