Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A solid electrical system troubleshooting document

edwardnjen
Explorer
Explorer
Greetings Everyone,

My wife and I bought a 1998 Damon Challenger, and we're pretty happy with it - but there are some issues.

One of these issues is that when plugged into shore power, all is well - but when unplugged there is NO power from the batteries (known good, recently replaced/tested). The second issue is that, when the generator is on, the A/C runs, but still no DC power to the lights or appliances.

We have a Magnatek (Parallax?) 7345 Power Center that appears to show normal operation.

I'm no electrician, and while there are tons of issues we have found great info on - I'm wondering...

A) Anyone have any ideas on what to check for these issues,
B) Is there already a comprehensive yet fairly generic electrical troubleshooting doc out there for RV's?

Any ideas, references or other input from the board would be greatly appreciated!

Best Regards,

Edward & Jen
Somewhere in Florida
10 REPLIES 10

bsinmich
Explorer
Explorer
Since you are new to RVing I will fill y ou in on a couple t hings that haven'tbeen covered yet. Your regular outlets will not have power when you are only using the 12V portion. It would take an inverter to change the 12V to 110V. Those usually are only on upper end MHs. Convertors will charge your 12V batteries when plugged in to 110 V. The only 12V you will find easily from the batteries is the lights in the MH. furnace fans, refrig. controls, water heater control, exhaust fan over stove and some other items will work from the 12V. Thinking of my MH I can't think of any 12V outlets that are handy for use except the cigarette lighter type on the dash, even though many things work off of the 12V.
1999 Damon Challenger 310 Ford

MrWizard
some model magteks have a relay that switches between battery power and converter power