Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Charging batteries with the engine

Redram99
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all.

I have a 2011 triple e senator 25d. Great motor home. E450 v10.

Just curious, what is the output of the alternator vs the standard converter?

It seems to charge the house batteries off the engine alternator very quickly.
Would that be nearly as economical as running a 4000 Onan?

Thanks.
25 REPLIES 25

pnichols
Explorer II
Explorer II
Redram99 wrote:
Thanks Pnichols. This is what I wanted to know. I’m not very good with electrical. In an hour, you can get a solid charge back into your batteries by idling the v10. I usually idle it up to 1000 rpm.

Wow. Engine abuse!!! Haha. From idling.

I’m in northern British Columbia where it is consistently -30 for extended periods. Our vehicles idle a lot! Doesn’t really seem to bother them much. Just the new diesels are a pain in the ass. No catastrophic failures that I know of on gassers.

I imagine the lifespan reduction of my v10 spinning at 4000 rpm wide open for 3-4min straight climbing a long hill is a bit higher than idling for 1 hour charging batteries. If not, it’s something I’m ok to do to the engine.

Burning more fuel than running the Onan... worth it in my opinion not to have to listen to that thing hammer away down there. Plus I can use the heat or a/c.

I found out what I wanted to know.

Thanks for the input!!

Nicely stated summary of the results of your original inquiry into using one's main RV engine here and there for added camping convenience and practically.

IMHO, it appears that there's a lot of "Old Wives Tales" and "Urban Legends" scare tactics going around concerning idling of a modern gas vehicle engine.

Here's some more comments/observations: