cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

need help stabilizing my 1995 coachman catalina

juanzo
Explorer
Explorer
hi guys. my name is juan and im new to rving. my wife and i just took the family on a trip to myrtle beach a few weeks ago and we had a great time. getting there was a little different. i am a truck driver by trade and i have to say that driving my rv on the highway faster than 55-60 was really REALLY SCARY! it handles very poor and i am kinda regretting buying it. i have been searching online for things to improve on my rig to make it handle better. i have read some people have put on their rig 19" wheels compared to the scrawny 16" on thier now. i have put quite a few bucks into it since i bought it. i installed a banks intake and full exhaust header to tip. full tuneup chassis lube,wipers,ac charge up, full detail by now you get the picture. its got some great pep now that it has the banks system but handleing is very very poor. i need suggestions from the community on what i can do. like i said i heard about people slapping on 19" wheels somehow. i heard about swaybars and whatnot. i just dont know where to start.... plz advise a young newbie here. ty. 😄
10 REPLIES 10

Andy1602
Explorer
Explorer
I just bought a 1994 Coachman Catalina Sport 220rk and I think it handles fine. Mine has just over 39,000 miles on it. It has had rear air bags added to it with overload springs on the shocks and a larger front steering stabilizer. Running Michelin 225/75-16 tires. Compared to my 1976 Jamboree class C I had a few year back mine drives like a dream. I don't push over 65mph on the interstate. Plenty of power it just starts to drink gas past that. 11mpg is about average with the cruise control on. I am happy with mine so far.
Just my 2 cents worth, Andy

Yankee_Clipper
Explorer
Explorer
If you're really willing to throw more cash at the problem, Rickson Wheels makes a bolt-on up size to 19.5" wheels. With rubber, figure $750 per wheel.