Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Raleigh to Dallas suggestions?

ponytail_mom
Explorer
Explorer
Greetings Everyone!!

I am a complete RV newbie, so forgive any inane comments I make ๐Ÿ™‚

I am taking my first trip from Raleigh NC to Dallas. I see my Google map options, but wondered if any of you had suggestions for stops along the way?

I was hoping to pass through Uwharrie National Forest, but as I'm new, not sure about Highway 24.

How do you know which roads are good for a 34' Class A? I'm at 13' height but is there a place to see bridge heights before you get to them? And what do you do if you feel you can't go under a bridge ( do you "turn around")

Thanks for any comments!!

Cris
Thanks All!
Cris
=====================================================
I don't even OWN an RV yet...but in training :@ !
Goal for ownership: Spring 2012!
7 REPLIES 7

ponytail_mom
Explorer
Explorer
Hello Everyone,

Thank you all for your suggestions. I am torn between only Interstates and off-the-Interstate, so will combine the two!

I'm used to the RV, have camped out a few times in local areas for testing, and now am going to see family in Dallas...first REAL road trip!

I'm glad to know about 24/27, but also about avoiding Atlanta. I do have a truck GPS, but haven't had a chance to really 'test' as I've been so local, but it is good to know this will help.

...and my Aunt lives in Little Rock, so I may just get there! I have 4-5 days for the journey there, so I'll be doing some research on hitting some of the routes suggested!

Thank you everyone. This forum is WAY better than any other forum out there!

Cris
Thanks All!
Cris
=====================================================
I don't even OWN an RV yet...but in training :@ !
Goal for ownership: Spring 2012!

JumboJet
Explorer
Explorer
I-30 in Arkansas.

I-35 is Minnesota/Iowa/Missouri/Kansas/Oklahoma/Texas Interstate.

Stop at Clinton Presidential Library in Little Rock and Clinton boyhood home near Hope.

Gooding__R