cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Rear running lights not working

KathysSunseeker
Explorer
Explorer
I'm brand new to the RV world. I bought a used 2005 sun seeker. Before my first trip out I had it inspected and had to have the trailer plug replaced. Everything was working great. I was pulling a car hauler. Partway through the trip the rear running lights stopped working. The brakes and turning signals as well as the front lights work. I replaced both bulbs but they still don't work. I looked over the wiring to the plug. It seems intact. Does anyone have any thoughts on what may be the problem?
7 REPLIES 7

cgmartine
Explorer
Explorer
In answer to dittmer, in some cases, such as on my 2008 Tioga, which has plastic molding on the top and sides of the rear cap, pulling back on those moldings often times reveal how they ran the wires to the lights. My top molding has all the wires to the side markers, while the vertical molding has the wires to the rear lights. If yours have those moldings, try pulling them back about an inch an a half. Also, my previous suggestion of using a ground wire was merely a test to see if it was a ground issue or a power problem, and once the problem is determined, running new wiring is entirely a different matter.

ron_dittmer
Explorer II
Explorer II
cgmartine wrote:
The most simple and easiest way to check it is to run a temporary ground wire from the nearest grounded point to the ground point on the inoperative light. If it works, then you automatically know it is a ground issue. The solution in that case is to run a whole new ground wire. If providing a solid ground wire does not fix the problem, then you have no dc power, and will need to supply it, preferably from a good known source.
Good advise for when you can get the wires to the lights. Unfortunately those high mounted lights are generally very difficult to re-wire. Hopefully the trouble can be found below.