Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tiger Owners: Full-Timing in a Tiger?

Eugarps
Explorer
Explorer
Hello All,

I like truck campers but view the lack or a realistic pass-through from the camper to the truck. In bad weather and sketchy security scenarios that would seem to be important. All weather capability is important to me, since i often travel Canada and the Rockies.

I'm no newbie to camping, having traveled 30 states with my family with a 19' Terry Tarus and a 24' Prowler in tow and later in a 28' Southwind motorhome. Having lost my wife of 47 years to cancer in 2014, I now travel solo and have no real reason to own a home. My kids live in Laramie and Albuquerque, so traveling to see them is more attractive in a camper of some sort.

Do you know of anyone who is full timing in a Tiger? From your experience, do you think it would be possible?

Thanks,

Bill
1978 27' Southwind MH - Gone
1982 19' Terry Taurus TT - Gone
1990 24' Prowler TT - Gone
TC - Still in the Hunt
38 REPLIES 38

Eugarps
Explorer
Explorer
paddykernahan,

I think I have seen some Tigers modified in just that way. The owners created a U shaped opening to allow easier cap ingress and egress and dedicated the remaining space to storage. The sofa could easily accommodate one person and be no more inconvenient than folding down the bed in a Class B.

Bill
TC - Still in the Hunt

paddykernahan
Explorer
Explorer
Just thought, doesn't the rear dinette fold out into a bed?
Might be cramped for two but one might be perfect.
Then just use the cab over bead for storage.

DiploStrat
Explorer
Explorer
Bill,

I just drove that Tiger back from Idaho to Columbia. It is a very, very nice unit. Empty and driving at 70 MPH or the speed limit (whichever was lower), it got 12.5 MPG for the over 2,000 mile trip. The owner, who has ordered a new Tiger, noted that the performance with the turbo diesel is outstanding at high altitudes. I would agree.