cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using two surge protectors

et2
Explorer
Explorer
I'm no electrician so I have a question for those with the knowledge. From our fiver I kept the portable Progressive EMS PT50C. We also have in our 1 year old MH the system hard wired to it already. I have been using the portable plugged to the box on the post then plugging in our power cord. I felt double the protection couldn't hurt.

The question is, could it hurt the hard wired system somehow having the portable one before it?

Thanks
10 REPLIES 10

et2
Explorer
Explorer
wa8yxm wrote:
A surge big enough to fry the 50 amp cord will also fry the surge protector. And a brown out deep enough to fry the cord is very simply not possible.

So, Protecting the cord is a non-issue.

Growing legs *IS* and issue

Portables can do that.
(Human legs that is, As in theft)

Thanks. But if they want to cut the chain and lock they can have it. Either that or they'll have to cut the power post down, that would get some attention. The surge protector would stop the surge at the post? No? That's what they are designed to do. Shut down the power?

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
A surge big enough to fry the 50 amp cord will also fry the surge protector. And a brown out deep enough to fry the cord is very simply not possible.

So, Protecting the cord is a non-issue.

Growing legs *IS* and issue

Portables can do that.
(Human legs that is, As in theft)
Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times

et2
Explorer
Explorer
RayChez wrote:
It will not hurt the hard wired surge protector, but what you have is over kill. Once a surge comes on the first surge protector will shut down any power into your coach. The second is there just for pretty.