Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

v10 torque vrs diesel

tres_perros
Explorer
Explorer
Hello folks

I have been looking for a used class A leaning towards a diesel as I plan on towing a Jeep and travel west coast, rockies

Evidentially I am told that the newer V10 fords have very similar torque range ( a model change with an extra valve)

So Id love to hear some opinions regarding this, including if maintenance/warranty contracts are any cheaper...

Thanks ahead of time! This is a great forum and has been very helpful

Keith
147 REPLIES 147

Cloud_Dancer
Explorer II
Explorer II
uncleluap wrote:
we can banter back and forth till the cows come home,use 5252X whatever
Use whatever formula u were taught.I have no knowledge of such stuff
I absolutely know one thing for sure.There is not a V8 or V10 in production today that come,s even close to being able to feasable propel a 40+Ft 4 slide 34K motorhome down the road and up mountain passes and if there was we would be seeing them.thats why we only see engines like the 425 8.9L cummins doing the job and not ford V10.thats my opinion

Well yeah, but they don't want to discuss the real world of selecting/buying a motorhome. They want to simply quote the horsepower formula, and then repeat it several times for good measure,......as if it's more than we can understand.
What nobody seems to understand is that the manufacturers use a gasoline engine if it's appropriate, and the same for a diesel.
Willie & Betty Sue
Miko & Sparky
2003 41 ft Dutch Star Diesel Pusher/Spartan
Floorplan 4010
Blazer toad & Ranger bassboat

uncleluap
Explorer
Explorer
we can banter back and forth till the cows come home,use 5252X whatever
Use whatever formula u were taught.I have no knowledge of such stuff