cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

W22 steering wander

norisezp
Explorer
Explorer
I am a newbie. So, if there are already posts on this topic, I'll shut this one down and join one of those discussions. However, multiple searches yielded nothing about this.

I have a 2003 Southwind 36T on a W22 chassis. On a recent long trip, I got VERY fatigued trying to keep the thing in my lane. The steering had to be jiggled all the time to do so. This level of concentration severely limited the time I could spend driving to a couple of hours, about 150 miles. I cannot believe that this is right. Does anyone have suggestions on making this better?
18 REPLIES 18

Harvard
Explorer
Explorer
POPULAR MECHANICS MAY 1973:
START QUOTE:
If too little caster exists, the car will wander and weave,
thus necessitating constant corrections in steering.
END QUOTE:

Chum_lee
Explorer
Explorer
norisezp wrote:
OKay I got the weights on a CAT scale with the unit partly loaded with leftovers from a trip. They are Steerable = 6560, Drive Axle = 13180, GVW = 19740. This does not really square up with the weights on the Federal Certification Tag of S=8000, DA=14500, GVWR=22000. Anybody got any ideas of the explanation? I mean, I could see it being more, but less? Or, are the FCT numbers maxima?

On further thought, before you make any changes to your MH, it would probably be best if you weighed it again, but, do it after you load it similar to when you drive it on trips. Your partially loaded weights (which you listed above) may throw your "true" weight and balance off.

For example. If your fresh water tank is empty, it adds zero weight. When full, if it holds 80 gallons, you just added 80 x 8.2 = 656 lbs. to your max gross weight. How it distributes depends on where the tank is located in your MH. The same occurs for fuel, black/grey waste, propane, food, and, your personal items.

Chum lee

norisezp
Explorer
Explorer