cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Which Portable Automatic Satellite for Dish?

jodeb720
Explorer
Explorer
As many of you are aware, I've just switched to Dish - and honestly, I've been impressed with the service and the technology - which Directv doesn't seem to possess today.

That being said, I'm looking at getting a wally and an automated antenna.

As I've doing research there are three or four players in the Market - Winegard, Tailgater (not sure who makes it) King, and one more.

Since I'm a newbie at this there are western and eastern Arc Satellites and not all of the devices will work with both Arc's.

Since i'm looking to retire and travel this terrific country of ours I don't want to purchase something that will only work in one part of the country (western arc - since I'm Los Angeles based today).

Which of the devices can use both western and eastern arc?

Thanks in advance

Josh
20 REPLIES 20

Bill_Satellite
Explorer II
Explorer II
Second Chance wrote:
Bill.Satellite wrote:
The Wally is also a 2 tuner receiver (despite any information you might read to the contrary). However, it appears the 2nd tuner is only operational when used with a standard DDP type LNB and not when used with the single LNB's used in dome style antennas.

Hmmm... you've piqued my interested, Bill. Are you saying that if I were to bother with setting up a 3 LNB antenna such as the 1000 or the rooftop Trav'ler, the Wally would sense that and enable the second tuner?

Yes. Many RVers are doing just that when you add an external hard-drive and have the DVR service setup with DISH.
What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

Bill_Satellite
Explorer II
Explorer II
TechWriter wrote:
Bill.Satellite wrote:
The Wally is also a 2 tuner receiver (despite any information you might read to the contrary).