cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

installing a mud flap

elle8
Explorer
Explorer
evening ,,, going fulltime newbie here ,,,, 21 days away ,,,36 ft winnie vista 2011,,, i will be towing a jeep wrangler . is it necessary to have a mud flap on for protection of toad . and if so which kind is best . i see the full rubber ones and then i see the grass looking kind . i am thinking that the grass is lighter , therefore saving on gas . i trying to be very weight conscious . and are they easy to install or should i have it done .

thank you ,,,rickybobby
6 REPLIES 6

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
What one person said about the grass/solid ones, if they touch the ground they can throw pebbles up even better than the tires can.

My vote is for the Protect-a-tow... What I use, different name, but identical product, parts are interchangeable they are that identical.
Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times

tenbear
Explorer
Explorer
I have used a full rubber, full width flap and has worked fine. Just keep it about 4" from the road. I always slow down to about 30 mph, or less, when on a gravel road.
Class C, 2004/5 Four Winds Dutchman Express 28A, Chevy chassis
2010 Subaru Impreza Sedan
Camped in 45 states, 7 Provinces and 1 Territory

Clay_L
Explorer
Explorer
I used a grass type for ten years and it helps with pebbles a lot.
Both the grass and solid ones are supposed to be installed so that there is about six inches of road clearance. If they are too close to the road pebbles can be thrown up.
Clay (WA5NMR), Lee (Wife), Katie & Kelli (cats) Salli (dog).

Fixed domicile after 1 year of snowbirding and eleven years Full Timing in a 2004 Winnebago Sightseer 35N, Workhorse chassis, Honda Accord toad

2gypsies1
Explorer
Explorer