cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

2014 Ford Edge as a Toad ?

Texas_Bounder
Explorer
Explorer
After reading the variuos forums on this subject it is now very evident that there are MANY opinions out there on which is better,, tow bar 4 down or dolly. I have decided to go the Tow Bar route. I plan to pull a 2014 Ford Edge. I am a newbie when it comes to a TOAD and am asking for some advice on Brand,equipment,braking system? etc,, for a Ford Edge.

Thanks for your help, Bill :@
TEXAS BOUNDER
'04 Fleetwood Bounder 32W / Workhorse Chassis / 8.1 Vortex
'14 Ford Edge TOAD
Heritage Angler Fishing Kayak 12'
Bill & Jeanne w/ our two 4 legged kids Lucy and Queenie
12 REPLIES 12

Texas_Bounder
Explorer
Explorer
After getting info from this forum and checking the web for some tow bar options for my '14 Edge Im thinking about getting a Brake Buddie system with a Blue OX tow bar. I guess I should consider getting a bar that will tow either the Edge or my old '04 Sierra for when I want to haul my Kayaks with us. any Ideas out there ? Thanks
TEXAS BOUNDER
'14 Ford Edge TOAD

jcandler
Explorer
Explorer
The center pin - on the plug at the coach is or should be hot ( sometimes the coach ignition switch needs to be on

Run a wire from this point to the edge battery - then you will be charging your Ford Edge battery as you go down the road towing

jcandler
Explorer
Explorer
You should run a charge line from your coach to your ford battery

Usually the center post on the plug at your coach is hot - go from here to your battery - then you'll be charging your Ford Edge battery as you are driving

francis young wrote:
I have just started towing my 2014 Ford edge. 3 days towing and 3 dead batteries is the result. I am using a Patriot supplemental braking system plugged into the Edge's cigarette lighter.

I believe I am doing everything the way the Ford and Patriot owners manuals say.