cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Brake Controller Set Up - Tekonsha Primus IQ

mcman56
Explorer
Explorer
I'm inexperienced with trailers and just installed a Primus IQ and used it with a newish trailer that likely was never towed with the brakes active. All I did was set a recommended boost per the manual for trailer and tow vehicle of similar weights. A short maybe 10 minute ride around suburbia with a top speed around 45 mph followed. There were lots of stops. It felt OK but I have no experience with trailers larger than little dirt bike trailers. When I got back, I could smell brakes. Placing my hand on the wheel by the brakes, they were noticibly warm to hot. Could this be normal for a first time activated brake system? Is boost really a good idea or could that be the issue? 2002 Silverado with tow package, Fun Runner toyhauler, estimated 5000 lb
9 REPLIES 9

mcman56
Explorer
Explorer
Even set to the max power of 13, I do not think the trailer wheels are locking up at 25 mph. This has dual axles with the brakes on the rear axle. Can it be hard to tell if they are locking? With the window down and listening plus looking in the mirror, I see no signs of lock up. I do feel a strong deceleration so they are working to some extent. I was concerned about coming down from 5500 feet but by staying out of overdrive, I only had to touch the brake a few times for very short time periods. (Thanks for that recommendation to stay out of overdrive.) The trip went well.

But..... after getting off of the freeway with almost zero use of brakes there were a few miles of surface streets with 4 or 5 red lights to stop at. When I got home, I got a slight scent of brakes. The wheel hubs were also pretty warm on both sides where the trailer brakes are located. Do trailer brakes tend to run hot/ warm? The trailer is new if that is a factor. Thinking back, the slight brake smell could have been coming from the TV. It is an old truck but new to towing.