cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Need advice on toy hauler swaying on freeway

09KZMXT266
Explorer
Explorer
I would greatly appreciate any feedback and advice please. My TV is a 2012 Toyota Tacoma DBL Cab short bed 4x4 with a 4.0 V6. I just bought a toy hauler that is 22' long and weighs 3600#s dry with a TW of 620#s. I pulled it home 350 miles in my Dad's 3/4 ton with no issues using just the hitch ball mount. Tonight I picked up my rig from E-Trailer where they installed the break controller and WD Hitch. The hitch looks to be installed correctly, but I'm a total newby and could be mistaken. Both the truck and trailer look to be pretty level, although the front of the TV may be a little raised. Normally my truck is raked and now it sits level.

On the way home I was fine until I entered the freeway and at about 45 mph I started to feel the trailer walking around behind me. It spooked me enough that I exited the freeway to take surface streets
home.

I know it will all change after I load my gear and a 980# Harley in the back. But, should I be getting sway at 45 mph on the freeway with a properly installed WD Hitch? Is it possibly due to not enough load in the back of the toy hauler? I was thinking adding more weight to the rear would only increase sway?

I realize I would be better off with a different TV, but I really, really, wan to keep my Tacoma if I can.

Help!!!!!!!
2014 KZ Inferno 3410T
86 REPLIES 86

LittleBill
Explorer
Explorer
09KZMXT266 wrote:
JConatser wrote:
Thanks Irak for finding the correct GCWR number... it was the one that kinda threw a flag and made me insert the "assuming" statement.
To OP: FWIW, even with the larger GCWR number, I think you're making a wise decision to go for a bigger truck.

I also didn't like the 2500 rpm at 60 mph.\

lol if you think 2500 is bad, you would be crying at 4k, where i sat when pulling with my subaru for 25k miles