cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Totally new To RVing need advice

SMS9758
Explorer
Explorer
We own a 2007 Toyota 4runner 4x4 V6 and would like to tow a Jayco Jay Flight Swift SLX 195RB. The dealer says we will be fine but I am looking for answers from those who have towed before. We plan to use it for trips up to 2000 miles at a time. If the Toyota is ok what do you recommend for a hitch, or stabilizer. Like I said I am totally new to this experience and really need some help from someone who isn't trying to up-sell me. We have been avid tent 8x8' campers for 40 years so this is a big change even though its a little trailer. Any help would be appreciated.
13 REPLIES 13

camp-n-family
Explorer
Explorer
Thank you so much for the information. I think we will replace the oem hitch as recommended and stay local this summer then upgrade our vehicle next summer. Shame we just bought the 4 runner two months ago but live and learn. I would much rather be safe than sorry.

Do a couple of shorter local trips and see how you like it. Don't discount the T4R and cancel your plans based on others' personal opinions, you may completely comfortable with it. You are well within the vehicle capabilities. It'll tow it all day long but will need to rev a bit in the hills. Won't hurt anything, some people just don't like high RPMs.

The T4R is a great vehicle, wish I still had mine. Actually considering buying another when the time comes. If you find the V6 struggling but like the T4R otherwise I would (and did) trade up to one with the V8. Not a huge change in power, actually less HP than the V6, but more torque and better gearing made a big difference. It also increases tow ratings up to 7200lbs using the same frame, axles, brakes, suspension etc.
'17 Ram 2500 Crewcab Laramie CTD
'13 Keystone Bullet Premier 310BHPR
Hitched by Hensley

IndyCamp
Explorer
Explorer
You are doing the right thing, asking for advice.