cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

trailer brake

klinky
Explorer
Explorer
just bought a new 2014 ram 2500 never noticed no intergrated brake control in it what happens when I pull my trailer
12 REPLIES 12

klinky
Explorer
Explorer
thank you everyone problem solved dealer is ordering and installing. will look like it came from factory I can sleep tonite

e-light
Explorer
Explorer
Ron3rd wrote:
jmtandem wrote:
I am new to all of this postings so please bare with me any ideas what can I do

Being new is good. But don't tow without a brake controller. Prodigy makes a good unit and most are plug and play so it is easy to install.

Yes, the Tekonsha line of controllers can be made "plug and play" but you need the optional pigtail for your Dodge. You need to buy 2 things; the Tekonsha controller of your choice (P2, P3, etc) and the Tekonsha pigtail (adapter) for your truck and then you can plug everything in. Go to the Tekonsha website and it will give you the part number for the pigtail you need to plug in the controller.

You may also be able to go with an integrated system like the Dodge guys posted above, but you'll have to look into that, I don't know anything about that. Good that you're asking all these questions beforehand.

I have the 2014 Ram with the integrated trailer brake and I can tell you it works VERY good. If you can get the factory unit and have it installed I would recommend that route.

That said I have also used the Tekonsha P3. It's an awesome controller. It's easy to install and setup and it works GREAT.

You won't go wrong with either route.
2015 Cougar 339BHS 5er
2016 RAM 2500 Crew Cab, 4x4, Laramie, 6.7L Cummins
Andersen Ultimate Aluminum 5th Wheel Connection
GONE:
2014 RAM 2500 Crew Cab, 4x4, Tradesman, 6.4L Hemi

deltabravo
Nomad
Nomad
klinky wrote:
...any ideas what can I do

Yes, get a brake controller installed.

Prodigy or the P3 (both by Tekonsha)