Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

converting ducted AC unit to non-ducted

secretcheese300
Explorer
Explorer
Hello!

We were just given an almost-new Atwood ducted rooftop unit without a ceiling kit. We live in a non-ducted rig. Mr. Google says there's a way to convert, but the instructions are flimsy. Is this possible?

I'll also need to order a non-ducted ceiling kit, but I'm not sure how to choose--do I just get the one with the most similar serial number?

Thanks!
Cheese
6 REPLIES 6

dougrainer
Nomad
Nomad
SoundGuy wrote:
dougrainer wrote:
Roof TOP units are all the same. Ducted or Non Ducted. What you need is a Non Ducted inside control/plenum mount kit.

According to the link I posted earlier ...

Rooftop Air Conditioner for Recreational Vehicles
Ducted Models
AC-1361 & AC-1511

Non-Ducted Models
AC-1351 & AC-1501

16K & 18K equivalent BTU units would suggest different top units.

I am NOT an expert on Atwood AC units as they have probably less than 5 percent of the total RV AC market. I have only seen a few and never worked on one as they have no market share. I have been to their website numerous times over the past few years and nothing on their install or Website states they have seperate models for Ducted or Non-Ducted. After 37 years as an RV tech, I have NEVER seen a AC maker(and there have been a few, now out of business), make a TOP unit different from all other of their models. There is NOTHING different in the TOP main guts and design that would require a specific model for ducted or Non-Ducted. It is the MOUNT and its design and controls, which are ALWAYS sold separately that determine how (ducted or NON) the RV'er or OEM wants to do. I believe their 16k and 18k claims (bogus really) are for the NON-Ducted model. Non ducted you can move more volume of air to get that claim. Notice they state (16kand 18k equivalent) performance. Doug

SoundGuy
Explorer
Explorer
dougrainer wrote: