cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Left battery out all winter in Michigan....

EnochLight
Explorer
Explorer
Greetings everyone!

Forgive the noob post (and I apologize if this is in the wrong place or has been discussed before), but I am new to the RV world and just bought our first travel trailer last summer (a 2013 Gulfstream Amerilite 16BHC) new.

I keep it plugged in to shore power when at home, but this winter I accidentally forgot to pull my battery for storage inside the house. As a result, I left my TT plugged into shore power all winter long (a good 7 months) with the porch light on, but I am wondering if my battery has been damaged or if I need to do anything now at this point?

My battery is an Interstate HD24-DP that appears to be sealed, but then again... it has the two caps on top that I am assuming I can pull to add distilled water to (not sure).

Thanks for any advice!

*Note: my TT does not have a battery meter or battery level indicator

Here's a shot of my battery for reference:

2013 Gulfstream Amerilite 16BHC Travel Trailer pulled with a 2008 Ford Escape Limited
38 REPLIES 38

EnochLight
Explorer
Explorer
*UPDATE*

NinerBikes wrote:
Unplug your travel trailer, and disconnect the single negative ground wire from the battery, the white wire. Measure your voltage at the terminals with the white wire disconnected. You should see 12.68 at around 50F to 12.73 volts at 70F if you leave the trailer unplugged from the wall, and the terminal disconnected overnight. Battery voltage fully charged is affected by the temperature of the battery at the time of measurement..

Alrighty, so I'm at 13.17 volts at 70F last night around 4PM. Just tested this morning at 9AM and I'm at 12.96 volts at 60F. According to the chart here, I feel confident that my battery is in great shape. Aside from me filling it up with distilled water too far, I think I'm good to go for the season! ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks to everyone who chimed in; cheers!