cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

15 amp fuse keeps blowing when hooked to generator

H4X0R
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 2014 Keystone Fireside 26t, when I plug it in to generator it blows a 15 amp fuse in the TT that controls the use of the 12v battery. I checked the wiring (white neg, black pos) and it is and has always been connected correctly. After it blows I unplug the generator disconnect the negative from battery and put a new fuse in. After I put the new fuse in I connect negative back in and lights, water pump work fine off the battery alone, battery is 3/4 charged. But after doing so I turn off all lights, pumps etc... And turn back on generator. I let it stay on for about 2-3 minutes then plug in the 30 TT power cord. By the time I get back inside the TT the fuse has blown again? If anyone has any tips or solutions to my problem I would really appreciate it!
I am new to the RV World...... But I know my way around Computers!
9 REPLIES 9

H4X0R
Explorer
Explorer
Ok on way home I say a keystone fireside just like mine and I knocked in the door to the house in which drive way it was parked in. I told the owner about my problem and he laughed at/with me and opened up his TT. Inside was 15a fuses from slots 1-4 and 30a on 5 and 6 and 40a on 7.... Thanks guys you all were correct. It's funny how u all know more than some off the salesman, dealers and techs! I asked him if it came that way and he said yes and showed me the converter manual and it says no more than 20a on 1-4 and no more than 30a on 5 and 6 and 40a on 7 for reverse battery hook up..... So I will be on the way to an auto store in the morning and plan a trip next weekend. Again thanks..

H4X0R
Explorer
Explorer