cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Bumper Hitch and Load Question for Bikes - 2019 Coleman Lantern 244BH Travel Trailer

russellspicer
Explorer
Explorer

Hi all!
I am relatively new to the RV scene and I have a question about towing capacity of the 4inch bumper hitch. From all the research I have done, it looks as if these hitches aren't really rated for towing at all and I have seen pictures of the welds failing due to the twisting torque/bounce of people who put a hitch and a bike rack on the back of it. Upon further research, I have come across a few products that can be bolted into the frame and offers more support for the sole purpose of taking care of this issue. Here is a link to an item that I have come across with the basic idea. The concept is the same on other brands I have found but basically the bracket cradles the 4 inch bumper after being bolted into the frame. This prevents the bumper from twisting when the excess load of going over bumps on the road happens. I am including a few pictures of what the back of my trailer bumper looks like because it looks as if my bumper has been reinforced more than other bumpers where I have seen this type of failure occur. From the failure pictures I have see on the internet, the bumpers don't have those extra angle brackets that my four inch bumper has and the bumper rips right off of the back of the frame. I am not totally sure if these type brackets would even fit due to the thickness of the L-bars that are welded. I have read other posts where people have taken their RV to a weld shop to have it reinforced for the purpose of being able to tote more stuff on the back of their bumper.