cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Hi, I'm a new guy here...

i5trucker
Explorer
Explorer
Hi, I am a new guy on the forums, just wanted to introduce myself. I am a 42 year old trucker and I want to get a camper to enjoy my days off a little better. I am used to living in a semi-truck for 5-10 days at a time, so a truck camper will be an upSIZE for us (wife and I). We live in northern CA by Shasta Lake and want to take weekend trips to the lake, over to the coast or up into OR... for now. Anyhow, I am going to browse the forums and try to learn what I can from stuff that is already posted. Hope to be "accepted", Chris.
18 REPLIES 18

RickW
Explorer III
Explorer III
jefe 4x4 wrote:
Rick4x4x4,
Careful there. New guy has one similar to yours except yours is 4x4x4, while his is simply 4x4. The difference can be measured on narrow winding jeep trails or parking in a space that's too short for any other rig to fit. How do I know this?
Also, I've always thought that driver ability trumps under strength rigs every time.
jefe

jefe, Thanks for correcting my math.

Chris, Welcome to the TC forum.
Rick
04 GMC 1500 4X4X4, 04 Sunlite SB

jefe_4x4
Explorer
Explorer
Rick4x4x4,
Careful there. New guy has one similar to yours except yours is 4x4x4, while his is simply 4x4. The difference can be measured on narrow winding jeep trails or parking in a space that's too short for any other rig to fit. How do I know this?
Also, I've always thought that driver ability trumps under strength rigs every time.
jefe
'01.5 Dodge 2500 4x4, CTD, Qcab, SB, NV5600, 241HD, 4.10's, Dana 70/TruTrac; Dana 80/ TruTrac, Spintec hub conversion, H.D. susp, 315/75R16's on 7.5" and 10" wide steel wheels, Vulcan big line, Warn M15K winch '98 Lance Lite 165s, 8' 6" X-cab, 200w Solar

More2Explore
Explorer
Explorer
Clicky
2014 Wolf Creek 850 SB
2013 F-350 SCB SB 4X4 6.2 L

joe123
Explorer
Explorer
also go to mellow mike web page some really good information there.

RickW