Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Newb advice for finding used truck for towing travel trailer

ShawnCBerg
Explorer
Explorer
Hi everyone,

We're in the market for a travel trailer and a truck to tow it with. We're looking at trailers similar to this in size/weight:

http://forestriverinc.com/product-details.aspx?LineID=176&ShowParent=1&ModelID=1178#Main

If the link doesn't work, it's a 33' travel trailer with the following specs:

GVWR: 7678 lbs.
Hitch Weight: 678 lbs.
UVW: 5564 lbs.
CCC: 2114 lbs.

I'm hoping we'll be able to tow this with a half-ton truck (F150, RAM 1500, Tundra), but am not 100% sure. I know the weight limits seem to be OK but I also know there's probably more to it than that.

Being a total camping newbie I have a few questions:

1- Can we tow a trailer like this with a half-ton truck with max tow package? Although we live in relatively flat terrain (Florida) we plan on towing the trailer up north to the Pocono Mountains and other places as well.

2- Is that really recommended?

3- I've been looking at used trucks online for a while now but none of them state whether they're properly equipped with whatever package necessary to handle the max tow weight. Do you recommend finding a truck that already has this or buying the truck and just adding it on after? How much does that cost?

Thanks so much, everyone! Just want to make sure we do this right (and safe).
8 REPLIES 8

gmckenzie
Explorer
Explorer
Based on my looking at and recently buying a GMC Sierra, you can do this with a properly equipped 1/2 ton. But I'm talking new or near-new as the 1/2 tons are a different breed than they were just a few years ago.

Couple of things. Ignore the dry weight. And your hitch weight won't be 678 lbs. Use the GVWR of 7678 and work from there. Hitch will be 12-15% of that so worse case is 1,151. My trailer is a GVWR of 8,200 and my hitch weight is 1,050. Sticker say 520 or something stupid.