Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie questions

tenortodd
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all! I'm a newbie to this forum.

My brother-in-law just bought a pop-up camper and they used it this past summer to travel the U.S. They love it!

So I started looking. I have a wife and 2 young daughters. We are definitely middle class without a lot of extra money in the budget, so I'm looking for something small that will hold us all comfortably with bunks and a full bathroom. We also want something light enough to be hauled by something that gets decent gas mileage. (A travel trailer, not a pop-up.)

Tell me if this sounds ok:

I'm looking at a Dodge Durango SUV, which gets 20mpg and tows 6200lbs.

Then I'm looking at the Jayco Jay Flight travel trailer - the SLX 7 174BH. Its GVW is 5000lbs.

Do those numbers sound good? I don't know anything about towing. Never done it. I just want us to be safe, if we're going to travel the country. I thought the loaded weight of the Jayco being 5000 and the Durango able to tow 6200 would be enough of a buffer for us to be safe going cross county. Am I correct?

We're in OH and I'd like us to visit FL, the TX gulf, and go out west.

Thanks for any input!
27 REPLIES 27

Grit_dog
Navigator
Navigator
Lwiddis wrote:
“I don't know anything about towing.”

Towing capacity is only one piece of the puzzle. What’s the TV’s payload? What will you carry in the TV...weight?

Tenortodd hasn’t chosen to tell us where he is located or where he plans to travel, jfk.

Re read the first post.
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5” turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

Grit_dog
Navigator
Navigator
SidecarFlip wrote:
Durango's are notorious for tranny issues when towing as well. Far as I can ascertain, the only FCA products that deliver descent mileage are the diesels. All the gassers cannot pass a filling station.

Get a 3/4 ton truck with 4 doors and be happy.