cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Noob with questions - need expert advice

username_taken
Explorer
Explorer
I am just getting into the world of truck camping, and I wish I had discovered it earlier! It provides so many more options than the giant 16k lb 5th wheel toyhauler we had - as well as being much more cost effective - fuel, purchase price, insurance, tags, tires, and on and on.

I currently have a 2012 GMC 3500HD diesel dually that I will be using it for the TC. Capacities are as follows:
GVWR - 13k lbs
Payload - 5133 lbs
Trailer - 18k lbs - tongue capacity??? 1800 lbs???
5th wheel - 22,400 lbs

We are looking at a 1998 Caribou - 11.5ft (Owner is unsure of model M11G or M11K) Either way, we should have enough payload for the camper with room to spare for a trailer for boat or toys.

But the BIG QUESTION - to tow it I will have to use a hitch extender in the factory class V hitch between (guesstimate) 24" and 36". From reading here, I know that affects trailer and tongue weight limits.

Our 20' flatbed toy trailer is less than 4600 lbs fully loaded with 2 RZRs, full fuelbox, and generator, but is tongue heavy at 665 lbs measured.

I'd like to use a 2.5" to 2" extension without a WD hitch for simplicity - shortest possible length of course.

Is there any way I can do this safely without a new Torklift Superhitch and Supertruss and/or a WD hitch, or do I need to get some weight off the tongue?
29 REPLIES 29

username_taken
Explorer
Explorer
HJGyswyt wrote:
Robert, you are getting close to making a usable setup for your towing needs, however if you do buy an 11.5 camper my best guess is you will need to go all the way to 48" extension to clear the rear bumper of the camper and not have "collision" issues when turning.