cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Roof weight limit?

sheaffrp
Explorer
Explorer
We purchased a 2001 Jayco Eagle 31ft Bunkhouse last year. Need to clean the roof, but wanted to find out the weight limit before doing so. Does anyone have any input? Any help is appreciated? Thank you in advance!
7 REPLIES 7

TurnThePage
Explorer
Explorer
Most roofs, especially of a certain age have support every 16". You can usually tell if you're on it or not. My roof is technically not walkable, but I've been doing it as needed since 2004. Agree with the others that you typically shouldn't need to get on the roof to clean it.
2015 Ram 1500
2022 Grand Design Imagine XLS 22RBE

badercubed
Explorer
Explorer
If you have to get up there and are really fearful, cut a few 16" squares out of 3/4" ply and walk/crawl on them to distribute the weight.
2019 Apex Nano 208BHS
2016 F-150 Crew Cab (it's my wife's ride)

Been camping for 37 of my 38 years!

cougar28
Explorer
Explorer
Dose it have a ladder on the back for getting on the roof? If so that's put there for a reason. I would get on top and see how the roof felt under foot.If you don't feel the roof is strong enough to hold the weight then don't. I've walked on top of both of mine and several others without any problem.I always get on top every time we camp and clean off anything that's fallen on the slide out roof. Now I'm not saying to jump up and down while your up there.
2002 F-250 SD CC 7.3PSD Auto. XLT Short Bed 4X4 Off-Rd.Pkg.Highland Green,Westin Sportsman Grille Guard (Black) RBW Li'l Rocker Slider ,Prodigy Control Towing Jayco Eagle HT 30.5 MLOK,Handy 5er tailgate

DutchmenSport
Explorer
Explorer
Some roofs are made to withstand walking on, others are not. You can probably get on the roof, but if you do crawl on all 4's so all 230 pounds is distributed over more points. If you are able, find the roof trusses, put your weight over them.