cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Which RV have the best aerodynamics? A, B or C?

bobvila
Explorer
Explorer
Hello,

I'm planning to buy a new RV next year and I'm a newbie.

For the same height, wide, weight and lenght, which ones have the best aerodynamics? A, B or C?

Thanks,

Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland Diesel 2015
Kodiak 200QB 2016
36 REPLIES 36

Ron3rd
Explorer
Explorer
Some of the best IMO are the new Forest River Windjammers. We've had ours for about a year and a half and love it. The V-Hull design really works and we're sold on it. No bugs on the front either. Wasn't sold on the unconventional looks at first but love it now. Ours has a large walk-in closet in the v-hull that the wife really likes. They make them in all sizes. Tows like a dream.

FR WINDJAMMER
2016 6.7 CTD 2500 BIG HORN MEGA CAB
2013 Forest River 3001W Windjammer
Equilizer Hitch
Honda EU2000

"I have this plan to live forever; so far my plan is working"

DougE
Explorer
Explorer
Keeping it simple, three primary vehicle parameters impact fuel consumption. Aerodynamics, rolling resistance and weight. Aerodynamics is a combination of shape factor, frontal area and speed. Rolling resistance is tire friction due to tire construction, air pressure and vehicle weight. Weight affects tire loss slightly and is primarily important in speed and elevation changes. For three similarly sized trailers the rolling resistance and weight will only be a very minor factor. The big factor is aerodynamics where the resistance goes up in proportion to the square of the speed.
Note: the frontal area is the "projected frontal area", basically a cross-section area. The added area caused by a v-nose is accounted for by the "drag coefficient". A flat plate has a flow coefficient of 1.28 and a streamlined body, similar to an airfoil shape, has a flow coefficient of .04.
Currently Between RVs

Big_Katuna
Explorer II
Explorer II