cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Back up bearing kit

Cougarnewbie
Explorer
Explorer
My local farm store has replacement trailer bearing kits by timken. I would like to get a kit to carry with me as a backup. They have a 1 inch, 1 1/4 inch, and a 3/4 inch kit. My seals are 2 1/8 inch I D , so I don't know where to measure to decide which kit I need. I have the original bearing numbers, but get lost trying to cross reference. Any suggestions? I depend on you folks.
Thanks
AL
May All Your On Ramps be Downhill
26 REPLIES 26

jamway
Explorer
Explorer
restlesswind wrote:
jamway wrote:
restlesswind wrote:
MTPockets1 wrote:
wandering1 wrote:
Homey B wrote:
OK, I'm new to RV owning, and maybe I missed something here.

We're all talking about changing hubs/spindles/bearings on the side of the road, after an at-speed failure, when we have the spouse/kids/pets all going crazy about "where are we? what happened to the trailer? what are you doing? when will we be going again?"

Talk about steely nerves... For me, there's a time/place for roadside assistance, and this seems like one of them.

IMHO, of course. YMMV, as it quite possibly does.

Keep your bearings packed like your owners manual says and you shouldn't have any problems. I have never had a problem in the past 20 years with bearings.
. Ditto.... Your bearings will never fail if you maintain them properly. Read the manual and do what it says. Also, overloading and long periods of storage will affect service cycle, but service is the key- then you won't need to waste your money on back ups.

Gee,I wish that I had known that before a bearing went out my fiver.